Elliott H. Lieb

Ahlfors Lecture series

October 3/4, 2011, Organizers: H-T Yau and S-T Yau

Harvard University, Science Center, Hall B and A

Speaker and Program

Elliott H. Lieb (Princeton University)
October 3, 2011: Lecture I, 4:15-5:15 PM in SC Hall B Symmetry breaking, reflection positivity and phase transitions
October 4, 2011: Lecture II, 4:15-5:15 PM in SC Hall A The Hardy-Littlewood-Sobolev inequality and its generalization to the Heisenberg group

Lars Ahlfors
This is a lecture series in honor of Lars Ahlfors (1907-1996) who was William Caspar Graustein Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University from 1946 to 1977. He won the fields medal in 1936 and the Wolf prize in 1981.


Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2009 Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2010 Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2011 Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2012