Ahlfors Lecture series

October 5/6, 2009, Organizers: H-T Yau and S-T Yau

Harvard University, Hall D

Peter Lax


Peter Lax is professor emeritus at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University. He won the National Medal of Science 1986, the Wolf Prize 1987 and the Abel Prize 2005.


October 5, 2009: Public Lecture 4:30 pm in SC Hall D Formation and Propagation of Shock waves, the Role of Entropy: A History of Shock Waves and its Future Development
October 6, 2009: 2:45-3:45 PM in SC 507: Degenerate Matrices

Lars Ahlfors This is a Lecture series in honor of Lars Ahlfors (1907-1996) who was William Caspar Graustein Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University from 1946-1977. He won the fields medal in 1936 and the Wolf prize in 1981.


Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2009 Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2010 Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2011 Ahlfors Lecture Series, 2012