Department of Mathematics FAS Harvard University One Oxford Street Cambridge MA 02138 USA Tel: (617) 495-2171 Fax: (617) 495-5132
Main page illustration

Benjamin Pierce, Preceptor, Senior Lecturer and Postdoc positions

(more on the Jobs page ...)
  • The Benjamin Peirce positions application process takes place through Math Jobs for jobs starting 2014/2015. We do not accept paper applications. The application deadline will be December 2, 2014.
  • The Preceptor position applications are listed also on Math Jobs for jobs starting 2014/2015. Priority will be given to applications received before December 10, 2014, but applications will be processed on a rolling basis with a deadline of January 9, 2015.
  • Senior lecturer in Mathematics: the application process takes place through MathJobs. The appointment is expected to begin on July 1, 2015.


Gaetan Genevier Special Lectures

Lectures 1/14,1/20,1/22, 2015, in SC 507 . Click for notes.

Informal Reading Seminar Spring 2015

Next Seminar 01/30/15:R. Inanc Baykur: Multisections of Lefschetz fibrations and topology of symplectic 4-manifolds, more...
Next Math table:
2/3/2015 Counting lattice points in triangles and the Fibonacci numbers, by Dan Cristofaro-Gardiner. More ... mathtable talk
Barry Mazur's and Mark Schiefsky's seminar HistSci206r continues as an informal reading group composed of faculty and students, both graduate and undergraduate, together with professionals from the Boston area. All readings in translation. No prerequisites. Place: SciC Room 232, Thursdays 2-4. First meeting: Feb. 5th. Readings by "Newton, Gauss, Abel, Galois, Poincaré, Riemann, Hadamard, Cantor, Dedekind, Hilbert Brouwer, Noether, Godel, Turing, Grothendieck. More information: Juan Marin (

The news and events page shows older announcements ...

News and Announcements

Weather updates

Harvard Emergency Page

Sectioning and Advising Spring 2015

Calculus sectioning for Spring 2015 is now open. Start

Calculus sectioning and Advising,

More ...
Spring 2015 Tutorials,

More ...

Talks on Youtube

Our Youtube Channel has talks of JDG 2014 and CDM 2014 conferences.
The news and events page shows older announcements ...